Blue Exorcist – A Quick Review

A while back, I made a post about jumping on the anime bandwagon and talking about the most recent ones I watched (which you can read here). While I was going to continue watching further series, I wasn’t planning on doing anymore reviews. However I just finished one that I highly enjoyed, and had to make mention of.

75195l

Blue Exorcist (2011-) tells the story of Rin Okumura, and his younger twin brother Yukio, living with their father Shiro, a priest. Rin soon discovers that he and Yukio are actually the sons of Satan, and Rin inherited his demonic powers. Wanting to becoming an exorcist and defeat Satan, Rin enrolls at his brothers school, True Cross Academy, where he must learn to control his new powers. The anime focuses on Rin and fellow classmates training to become exorcists with their teacher, and fellow exorcist, Yukio, in order to protect Assiah (the human world) from Gehenna (the demon world). 

The show told a really exciting and compelling story, and I was obsessed only a few episodes in. Season 1 is only 25 episodes long, and I ended up watching it relatively quickly – it often ended on a cliff hanger or previewed the next episode in an intreaging way!
It also has a good mix of humor, action and drama, which is probably my favourite type of anime, as well as a great range of characters. I definitely think it’s in my top favourites (along with Attack on Titan, Sword Art Online, Death Note, Pokemon and Sailor Moon)

Blue Exorcist also has a movie, which I enjoyed just as much. Anime films, even those adapted from tv series, are often well made, and this was no exception – I thought it was quite beautiful, and still contained the humour and action from the series.

One thing that did draw me to this show was that Rin is voiced by Bryce Papenbrook, whom I really enjoy as a voice actor. I enjoy hearing him in other anime and always love the characters he portrays, so I knew I had to watch.

Something that I didn’t speak about last time was how pleasing anime characters are to look at! Yes, they are cartoons.. but literally everyone is attractive! I adored Rin Okumura! He had that whole high schooler-demonic monster thing going on, very attractive 😛
img_0285I could probably list a heap of anime characters I’ve had crushes on, the first being Ash Ketchum when I was younger! L, Kirito, Yurio, Eren.. and don’t even get me started on goddam Captain Levi..! *swoon*

Anyway, moving on.. if you are interested in watching Blue Exorcist, both season 1 and 2, and the movie are all currently on AnimeLab, which you can access subbed for free or subbed/dubbed for $6.95 a month, which I’ve linked below.

I really like being involved in the anime fandom. Not only does it have really good stories you become invested in, but it has great fan culture! Merch, conventions, extra content for shows, and that’s just the surface of it. When you become obsessed with a show, you can truly get fully into it!

 

Let me know in the comments if you’ve watched Blue Exorcist, and what you thought about it. Also feel free to post a comment if you’ve had a crush on any anime or cartoon characters – it would sure make me feel better!

Jess xx

 

Related Links
AnimeLab 

*Pictures courtesy of Google Images
This is not a sponsored post 

Leave a Reply

